Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Max Verstappen becomes new Formula One World Champion

Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Red Bull youth driver Max Verstappen has won his first Formula 1 race, defeats seven-time winner Hamilton. The 24-year-old Verstappen won the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix title on Sunday. Along with this, he also captured the title of Formula 1 World Championship. He surpassed seven-time champion and Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton.

Max Verstappen became F1 World Champion, won the first title in a thrilling race, broke Lewis Hamilton’s dream. Before the last race of the season, Verstappen and Hamilton had equal points and the winner was to be decided from this race, where Verstappen won the title in the last lap.

The young Formula-1 racer Max Verstappen from the Netherlands has become the 2021 F1 World Champion. Red Bull Racing’s 24-year-old driver Verstappen won the title for the first time by defeating seven-time world champion Mercedes legend Lewis Hamilton at the last race of the year at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Along with this, Verstappen also broke Hamilton’s winning streak for 6 consecutive years. Before the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, both the racers were tied on 369.5 points and the race was to decide the championship winner. Verstappen won the last lap in a thrilling fashion, scoring 25 points and winning the title with a total of 395.5.

In this 58-lap race on the Yas Marina track, Hamilton kept first place from start to finish, but the incident in the 54th minute changed everything. Williams Racing Team driver Nicolas Latifi’s car crashed on the 54th lap, prompting a safety car to be implemented, requiring all drivers to slow down and overtake until debris was cleared from the track. Hamilton was first and Verstappen second at this time.

Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix
Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix

In the last lap, Verstappen overturned

Then just before the last lap the safety car was removed and the race was restarted. It was here that Verstappen finally overtook Hamilton in this lap and finally finished the race in first place in a few meters, ending Hamilton’s dominance and winning the title for the first time. Verstappen finished the race in 1:30:17.345 hours. Hamilton finished second, while Ferrari’s Carlos Schenz finished third.

Verstappen got 25 points from this Grand Prix and won the title with 395.5. Hamilton, who finished second, got 18 points and finished second in the season with a total of 387.5 points. Hamilton’s teammate Valtteri Bottas remained in third place with 226 points.

Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix 2
Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix 2

Hamilton’s chance of record slipped from hand

At the same time, British legend Lewis Hamilton, who has made dozens of records in Formula 1, missed the world record. Had Hamilton won, he would have held the record for winning the world championship for the most number of times. Currently, Hamilton is tied with Ferrari’s great German racer Michael Schumacher with 7 titles and would like to break it next year.

Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix 3
Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix

List of Formula One world champions following Max Verstappen’s 2021 title win at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on Sunday:

2021 – Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull
2020 – Lewis Hamilton (UK) Mercedes
2019 – Hamilton, Mercedes
2018 – Hamilton, Mercedes
2017 – Hamilton, Mercedes
2016 – Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes
2015 – Hamilton, Mercedes
2014 – Hamilton, Mercedes
2013 – Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull
2012 – Vettel, Red Bull
2011 – Vettel, Red Bull
2010 – Vettel, Red Bull
2009 – Jenson Button (UK) Brawn
2008 – Hamilton, McLaren
2007 – Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari
2006 – Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault
2005 – Alonso, Renault
2004 – Michael Schumacher (Germany) Ferrari
2003 – Schumacher, Ferrari
2002 – Schumacher, Ferrari
2001 – Schumacher, Ferrari
2000 – Schumacher, Ferrari
1999 – Mika Hkkinen (Finland) McLaren;

Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix 4
Max Verstappen won Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix 4

1998 – Hkkinen, McLaren
1997 – Jacques Villeneuve (Canada) Williams
1996 – Damon Hill (UK) Williams
1995 – Schumacher, Benetton
1994 – Schumacher, Benetton
1993 – Alain Prost (France) Williams
1992 – Nigel Mansell (UK) Williams
1991 – Ayrton Senna (Brazil) McLaren;
1990 – Senna, McLaren
1989 – Prost, McLaren
1988 – Senna, McLaren
1987 – Nelson Piquet (Brazil) Williams
1986 – Prost, McLaren
1985 – Prost, McLaren
1984 – Niki Lauda (Austria) McLaren
1983 – Pickett, Brabham
1982 – Keke Rosberg (Finland) Williams

1981 – Pickett, Brabham
1980 – Alan Jones (Australia) Williams
1979 – Jodi Shekhar (South Africa) Ferrari
1978 – Mario Andretti (USA) Lotus
1977 – Lauda, ​​Ferrari
1976 – James Hunt (UK) McLaren;
1975 – Lauda, ​​Ferrari
1974 – Emerson Fittipaldi (Brazil) McLaren;
1973 – Jackie Stewart (UK) Tyrell
1972 – Fittipaldi, Lotus
1971 – Stewart, Tyrell
1970 – Jochen Rindt (Austria) Lotus
1969 – Stewart, Matra
1968 – Graham Hill (UK) Lotus
1967 – Denny Hulme (New Zealand) Brabham
1966 – Jack Brabham (Australia) Brabham
1965 – Jim Clark (UK) Lotus
1964 – John Surtees
1963 – Clarke, Lotus

1962 – Hill, BRM
1961 – Phil Hill (USA) Ferrari
1960 – Brabham, Cooper
1959 – Brabham, Cooper
1958 – Mike Hawthorne (UK) Ferrari
1957 – Juan Manuel Fangio (Argentina) Maserati
1956 – Fangio, Lancia/Ferrarik
1955 – Fangio, Mercedes
1954 – Fangio, Mercedes/Maserati
1953 – Alberto Ascari (Italy) Ferrari
1952 – Askari, Ferrari
1951 – Fangio, Alfa Romeo
1950 – Giuseppe Farina (Italy) Alfa Romeo
Multiple Champions:
7 – Schumacher, Hamilton
5 – Fangio
4 – Prost, Vettel
3 – Brabham, Stewart, Lauda, ​​Pickett, Senna
2 – Askari, Graham Hill, Clark, Fittipaldi, Hkkinen.


PM News Click Here
PM News on Google News Follow on Google News

Leave a Comment